The Library Commission has a total of 10 voting members. The membership has the following structure. There are also two non-voting student liaisons.

Number of Members Seat Type Appointed / Elected By Term Years
4 Library Commissioner City Council with Mayor Presiding 3
4 Library Trustee Fletcher Free Library Trustees 3
1 Library Staff Commissioner Fletcher Free Library Staff 1
1 Mayoral Designee Mayor 3


The Commission includes:

Members Seat Term Start Term End
Sally Blanchard-O'Brien Library Commissioner 09/13/2021 06/30/2025
Emily Copeland Library Commissioner  07/01/2021 06/30/2024
Patrick Halladay Library Commissioner 07/01/2021 06/30/2024
Amy Mellencamp Library Commissioner  07/01/2021 06/30/2024
Allie Cashell Library Trustee 01/27/2021 06/30/2024
Chol Dhoor Library Trustee 07/01/2019 06/30/2025
Cate MacLachlan Library Trustee 07/01/2023 06/30/2026
Mona Tolba Library Trustee 07/01/2019 06/30/2025
Melissa Hutson Library Staff Commissioner 11/01/2023 06/30/2024
Jessica Nordhaus Mayoral Designee 03/01/2018 03/01/2024
Grace Maley Student Liaison 07/01/2023 06/30/2024
Vivian Halladay Student Liaison 11/01/2023 06/30/2024


The Library Commission meets on the third Wednesday of every other month at 7:45 am. The public is invited to attend.

Next meetings:

The next meeting will be held on Wednesday, March 20, 2024.


Burlington Code of Ordinances

Chapter 21, Article 1, Paragraph 43 (Fletcher Free Library)


The Library will be closed for Library Services on Tuesday, March 5 for Town Meeting Day.

The building will be open as a polling location.